Oslo 2 Agreement

Oslo I also set the agenda for the follow-up agreement, known as Oslo II, which would include the debate on the future administration of the city of Jerusalem (both sides claim it as their respective capitals) as well as issues relating to borders, security and, if applicable, the rights of Israeli settlers in the West Bank. The interim agreement on the West Bank and Gaza Strip, commonly known as Oslo II or Oslo 2, was a key and complex agreement in the Israeli-Palestinian peace process. As Oslo II was signed in Taba, it is sometimes called the taba agreements. The Oslo Accords provided for the formation of transitional Palestinian autonomy in the Palestinian territories, but did not promise an independent Palestinian state. Oslo II created Zones A, B and C in the West Bank. The Palestinian Authority has been given limited powers and powers in areas A and B, as well as the prospect of negotiating a final settlement on the basis of Security Council Resolutions 242 and 338. The agreement was officially signed on September 28, 1995. The Oslo Accords are an agreement between the Government of Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO): the Oslo I Agreements signed in Washington, D.C. in 1993; [1] and the Oslo II Agreements, signed in Taba, Egypt, in 1995. [2] The Oslo Accords marked the beginning of the Oslo process, a peace process aimed at reaching a peace treaty on the basis of UN Security Council Resolutions 242 and 338 and respecting the “right of the Palestinian people to self-determination”. The Oslo process began after secret negotiations in Oslo, which led to the PLO`s recognition of the State of Israel and Israel`s recognition of the PLO as a representative of the Palestinian people and negotiating partner. In May 1999, the five-year transition period ended without a comprehensive peace agreement, but elements of the Oslo agreement remained.

The Interim Palestinian Authority has become permanent and a dominant factor in the PLO. The West Bank has remained divided into zones A, B and C. that cover about 60% of the West Bank and are exclusively under Israel`s military and civilian control. Less than 1% of the area C is intended for use by Palestinians who, due to Israeli restrictions, also cannot build in their own existing villages in Area C. [15] The Israeli Civil Administration, part of a larger unit known to be the coordinator of government activities in the territories (COGAT), which is a unit within israel`s Ministry of Defense. , is still in full development.